“They’re singing ‘Deck the Halls’…”

Just arrived home after strolling our City’s major shopping mall and being given a gift by my parents. I should point out that this is the first Christmas where I have not received any gift from godparents and the like. But I’m not feeling bad. I think I had experienced a richer Christmas because of that.

Oh, and this would be my first blog post in months. School had been very ungenerous plus the responsibilities in the other aspects of my life prevented me from writing on this wall. And how I missed blogging!

Yes. This is what busy looks like. 😉

But then, back to my Christmas theme, it has been four days since Christmas and I am still unable to say that I have celebrated this season to the fullest just like that past years. As a Christian and church leader, yes, i have placed in my heart the very thought that Jesus, really is the reason for this celebration. Yet I have found it hard to see that Christmas is still a joyous celebration here in the Philippines.

I see no wrong in disregarding the Christmas celebrations in December. Many might say that this is un-Christian. Yet, was Jesus really born in December? I do know that the 25th of December is not even close to precise. This celebration is only done for us to remember His Nativity more than two thousand years ago.

Yeah. I know I can still celebrate Christ’s Nativity in September.

Repeatedly on this blog and on other places that you’ll find me, I have said that Christmas is my favorite time of the year. But how can I celebrate the joy and laughter if I have brothers and sisters in the Mindanao area who were left devastated by Typhoon Pablo? How will I indulge with the jamon and quezo de bola while my neighbors are flooded by the recent Typhoon Quinta? How will I sing joyous carols when other people are left with nothing to eat and only have their rumbling stomachs to listen?

So drastic. :(( (Photo by ABS-CBNNews.com)

But it is a wonder that I just received the message tonight. Maybe this was just a realization; maybe this was divine intervention. The message is that the reason I was losing the Christmas spirit because I never had the spirit after all! And also the rest of the Christian Filipinos who feel the same!

Let me quote the song “Christmas (Baby, Please Come Home)”:

The snow’s coming down
I’m watching it fall
Watching the people around
Baby please come home

The churchbells in town
They’re rining a song
What a happy sound
Baby please come home

Theyr’e singing deck the halls
But it’s not like Christmas at all
I remember when you were here
And all the fun we had last year

Pretty lights on the tree
I’m watching ’em shine
You should be here with me
Baby please come home

Baby please come home
Baby please come home

They’re singing deck the halls
But it’s not like Christmas at all
I remember when you were here
And all the fun we had last year

If there was a way
I’d hold back these tears
But it’s Christmas day
Baby please come home
Ohh…

I’m singing this song not to someone I love on this earth. Instead, I am sending this message to Jesus Christ Himself, MY Savior, and once had been a Baby to show His love for humanity.

I pray that this Baby come home, to every household, to every person, to every heart. Jesus wasn’t around these past days, though not literally. He was just a figure long ago. Yet thought this season was named after Him (CHRISTmas) we have forgotten His message and teachings. Christmas should have been bearing the message of sharing and love. Those are the things we were lacking recently. And I thank God for the realization.

The Nativity: the reason for celebrating this season.

I hope that this post has given you an insight. Merry Christmas! Bring back the joy and love for this season!

P.S.: Expect more posts to come! 😉 Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

